1. Technology

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://email.about.com/u/r/od/freeemailreviews/gr/mail_com.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

Mail.com - Free Email Service

User Rating 1.5 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Mail.com Premium ServicesJune 06, 2013 By RammaJ
sooo sorrry that I ever gave them any of my information. Like others reviews, same story, cant get rid of them. They won't let me go back to free, keep threatning me if I don't pay. Extortion! Take my advice, stay free, use Gmail instead. This company is based over seas and is rapidly swindling everyone who supplies them with funds.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
IT COULD NOT POSSIBLY GET WORSE THAN THISJune 05, 2013 By bwhiteb
I have been with mail.com since the VERY beginning, when they were absoluetely THE premium free e-mail service. Over the past five years, their services have deteriorated in EVERY respect to the point that it is now useless -- even dangerous -- to maintain an account. They now hijack accounts, eavesdrop, run spyware and adware and essentially compromise your personal information. This is all probably due to the multiple changes in ownership over the past fifteen years. As to the current owners, who have debased it to the point that it is worthless -- well -- there is absolutely NOTHING that I would put past them, and I AM THROUGH with these CRETINS.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
AOL blocks Mail.comMay 22, 2013 By r_cotton
I have been using Mail.com for several years. Most recently, I am unable to send emails to anyone using AOL.com. I receive a Mail Delivery Failure message with an error message ""The following address failed: useremail@aol.com. host:mailin-02mx.aol: RLY:B1"" I check the postmaster site for aol.com and learned the they have blocked email delivery from Mail.com. I attempted request permission to lift the block, but it had to be from the host server which is Mail.com. I reached out to them several times, but still no luck. I guess I have to change my email carrier
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Avoid like the plague!!!May 20, 2013 By chelaanan
You know, I should have realized when my first choice in a username was available that something was up. Years go by, and all of a sudden they tell me my account has been blocked. So I contact ""customer service."" I receive an email from them that my account was blocked by the abuse time and that's all the info they are going to give me and it is going to remain blocked? WHAT?! So I can only assume my account was hacked. I responded to the email asking for more information. If they check my history they can see I'm not a spammer. Not sure why they can't do like every other account and just let you change your password. STAY AWAY!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Intrusive ads, Constantly having to re-logonMay 15, 2013 By EdDundas
I began with mail.com when they began, as a paid subscriber for my business. Then, several years ago, they lost 3 months' worth of mail and were unable to replace it. After that, I let my subscription lapse and continued to use it for purely personal mail. However, over the past weeks, they have begun ""pushing"" sound ads through, disrupting any Skype calls or programs being listened to. Consequently, I continue to use it but only intermittently, logging on when I want to send/check personal mail (and to clear out the spam). Recognizing that they need to make money, they have been their own worst enemy in that regard, driving their oldest clients off and earning truly abysmal ratings and ""un-recommendations"".
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
The Worst on the WebMay 15, 2013 By jskrepak
Logging in is a headache. Once you're in, navigation is terrible. Once you're in your Inbox, reading your messages is next to impossible. If you do manage to open your messages, any links you click that require you to scroll, will just bounce you back to the top of the message without opening. If you click that you want to view all content, the entire site locks up and you can't do anything. Any messages that don't go through take 3 or 4 days before you're notified. Customer service is ridicules and gets you nowhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
good free emailApril 30, 2013 By regishere
Much improved now, give it a go it looks great and has no problems, got a lot going for it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst free email ever!!!April 14, 2013 By gundomom1
I signed up with mail.com about a month ago and have had nothing but problems. It will not let me sign in to access my emails. I had to download the app and that doesn't regularly work. Normally I wouldn't freak out but since I am only using this email account for RSVPs for a large party I'm having....it's a huge problem. I have contacted the site many times with no response, I have also tried numerous times to reset my password by having mail.com send me a link to my working email but still nothing! The site can't even send an automated reset. Please save yourself the headache and do not use mail.com.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
canceling premium mail.comMarch 09, 2013 By decjr
The previous problems noted here have not changed. I requested cancellation in June 2012. I received notification March 7 2013 regarding the renewal fee due on March 3rd. The credit card they have on file was canceled just 3 weeks ago due to a breach of the company's files. I responded the premium mail account was to have been closed last year and received a reply stating I could not cancel prior to the expiration date. Further correspondence states if I pay the $19.95 due they will now cancel the account.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stay well awayMarch 05, 2013 By boonsy641
The service I have been with for 10 years as a premium member is soooo inconsistent, the level of service is extremely poor, they have poor reviews in terms of SPAM filtering. I have a small business and virtually went out of business due to this poor inconsistent, unreliable email provider. they have support that offers little or useless advice, not once have they managed to resolve an issue and there have been many. I switched to GMAIL and so far no problems. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROVIDER. They are the absolute worst I hace come across
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Mail.com completely crashedFebruary 11, 2013 By zllooyd1
I have been using the free email account with Mail.com now for over a year and a half, and all of a sudden today it will not allow me to log in, and instead takes me to a page saying ""Sorry your login was unsuccessful"". It continues to offer a link to contact Mail.com if the problem persists, but this link just takes you to another page with a webform to fill out and send to Mail.com. This is ridiculous, and I am disgusted with this ignorant service, but it is my Email now, and I am stuck with it!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
NO CUSTOMER SERVICEDecember 29, 2012 By lisaaskelson
I have used mail.com as my only account for over 13 years. I have now been blocked from using my acct, and have been trying with no success for two weeks to get some sort of help. It is impossible, and I am so frustrated. All of my contact info, as well as important work related emails is gone. They do not respond to requests for help, and there is no phone number to call. I would avoid this mail server at all costs!
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Unreliable deliveryDecember 16, 2012 By h.coderre
I have been with FREE MAIL.COM email service for over a year. I have been using it in my Thunderebird and never had any problems until a week ago when people started receiving my emails up to 12 hours after I had sent it out. I emailed MAIL.COM with my problem and they acknowledged having had problems delivering emails. BUT it went downhill from there. NOW, NONE of my emails are being delivered. I have tested this by sending myself dozens of emails into another of my web address. 36 hours later, none of my emails have been yet delivered. I have emailed them again but this time I get no response from them (or is it that they did not get my emails). What had been a great relationship has become very UNRELIABLE and not to be trusted. The fact is you do not know when your emails are being delivered until people start telling you they did not get your emails. I might be an isolated care, but then maybe not...
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Completely awful. Avoid like the plague.October 31, 2012 By Notacatgirl
Ugh. Mail.com blocked my account for absolutely no reason whatsoever. They didn't respond to any emails I sent them about it, but about four days later I tried to log in and, hurray, it worked again. Super. I logged out, realised I'd forgotten to do something and logged back in again, to find out I'd been blocked again. Not only have they blocked my account for no reason that I can figure (seriously, it's just a personal email address, I don't sell herbal Viagra or email strangers asking them to help me deposit 1.3 million dollars in American accounts), but once they block your email, they also bounce back any emails you're sent during that period. So. Seriously. Really, really, really, really, really, really, really bad, completely unreliable and more of a hindrance than a useful tool. Avoid like the plague.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Lacking in customer service-VERY POOR PERFORMANCEOctober 04, 2012 By Cliff_Spectre
I used mail.com as an exclusive email for job hunting. Poor choice. When I first started, they locked me out of my account a couple of times for no reason. Customer service is in India. They talked their way around it and never explained why it happenned. In the last month sometimes when I send an email all the body that I typed doesn't go through. All the recipient receives is an email with their initial email visible but my response is not there. I've started copying an alternate account with a bcc to see what it looks like. It just so happens, the emails it's failed on have been responses to potential employers. The first time I wrote to customomer service they asked me some questions. Since then....nothing. And it did it again yesterday-Oct. 3, 2012. So my recommendation to you is, USE ANY EMAIL SERVICE OTHER THAN MAIL.COM IF YOU ARE CONCERNED AT ALL WITH PERFORMANCE OR PLAN ON USING IT FOR ANYTHING EVEN REMOTELY CONSIDERED IMPORTANT.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
My experience with mail.com / cancellingOctober 03, 2012 By ryanschostag
Free account always gets blocked I use mail.com to manage several email accounts and it seems that about every 3 weeks, they block my account for no reason and don't even contact me back when I contact them. I can't imagine actually paying money to them. It's so frustrating. I'll just open a new account, sync my emails and use that account until they cancel it. I'm looking for another online mail client like mail.com that ISN'T mail.com, gmx.com or any mail client in association with them. Cancelling Reading the reviews of others who had a hard cancelling...all you have to do is contact you bank / credit card company and tell them to block all charges that come from mail.com because you sent in a cancellation request and you're afraid they will continue to withdraw funds without your authorization because they were combative with you and opposed or denied your cancellation. I've done this wit 24 hour fitness and my bank saves me a lot of headache because they listen to me. So, hopefully you can turn to your credit card company or bank to assist you with taking the power away from mail.com when you want to cancel your subscription.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't make the mistake I madeAugust 28, 2012 By cbstafford
On two separate occasions my inbox was totally deleted by mail.com poor server hardware, poor applications, inept programmers, or possibly all of the above. Moving to gmail.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
My experience with mail.comJuly 19, 2012 By marriedwoman5590
I am a member of mail.com. It's only been a couple months, and I have had someone hack my email, which is not cool. Also, this is the first website/email site that I have ever had this many problems with. I would like the people that run mail.com to try or to please make the site more better and more trustworthy for people. It rediculous to have an email with impoertant things on it, and not be able to access it. I had to redo all my job programs, resend out my email, and now the site is down. WHATS REALLY THE ISSUE HERE? Thats what I would like to know. So, as a member of mail.com, I would hope they will wake up and make there site better, and more accessable for people like me to use. Thanks, Mail.com member.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
mail.com technical error againJuly 05, 2012 By chanc18
mail.com technical error again, so cannot log in. Tried clearing cookies, tried different browsers. What a pathetic service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
terribleApril 26, 2012 By alibaha
Lots of log on issues and tons of pop ups that prohibit you from logging on. It gets so bad that you have to start over half way through logging in. It is very very frustrating to use. I cannot stress how BAD this email service is and hope it goes away. I do of course use a different one now , but had such a bad experience that I had to share and keep others from using this lousy site.
65 of 77 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
OK for years, but charged despite cancellationApril 06, 2012 By john_dk
I've had two e-mail accounts with forwarding premium service with MAIL.COM since beginning of 2002. I've until now generally been happy about the service provided, however when I was notified about automatic extension for one of the accounts due 12 March 2012 by billing previously used credit card, I decided to cancel the premium service (USD 19,95) for this e-mail account and communicated my request twice to MAIL.COM 28 February 2012: 1. By on-line message to customer support as instructed in notification e-mail from MAIL.COM. 2. By e-mail sent from my subscription MAIL.COM e-mail account (requires my login information, e.g. password) as instructed in a e-mail from Premium support received as response to (1). Instead of sending me a cancellation confirmation MAIL.COM actually billed my credit card account 15 March 2012 despite my cancellation request. I've complained about this to MAIL.COM asking my money back and they've replied on 22 March 2012 that my ""...case is being escalated to our administrators with the cancellation issue."" Today 5 April 2012 I've still not received any further information or my money back. Hence for the time being I would like to warn customers about giving credit card information to MAIL.COM in order to subscribe to Premium service, as there in case of cancellation of Premium service seems to be a risk that they continue billing despite cancellation (see also reviews from other users describing similar problems with MAIL.COM). Rest assured that should this case be solved to my satisfaction, I will return and update this review.
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
More and more adsApril 05, 2012 By WebbyCat
I'm a premium member and have been for years, and am thinking of getting another mail service. I'm sick and tired of all the pop up ads and flying adds taking time to load and then I have to close them before I can even access my mail. I'm on DSL, with a slow server, so when you get numerous ads, it does take some time, and it gets very aggrivating. I know they make money on the ads, but as a premium member, I think I should not have to be subjected to all the ads. I also think the number of ads has been increasing in the past year. Phooey on that!!!!
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Fine as long as you don't want to cancelMarch 26, 2012 By Ttsker
Run away from Mail.com. Service was Ok, but when I decided to cancel, they refused to accept my cancellation. They continue to bill me over a year after I cancelled. They keep trying to charge my credit card. They threaten to send me to collections. They have unwritten ""policies"" about the correct way to cancel. These are not in their policies and procedures. BEWARE
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
I have used email.com for many years, BUT -March 13, 2012 By afergy
Over the last year or more I have had problem after problem. The latest? Yesterday I discovered that they were adding addresses to my blacklist using some sort of algorithm they had developed. They had added my very own email.com address (I sometimes actually send myself a retitled email so I can find it again, given that they have discarded their previous excellent search function for one that won't find diddly squat). They also had added to the blacklist my business email address from my company site, which forwarded all my business email to me at email.com. They had added clients and business contacts, buyers and lenders, etc. I don't know how much or what exactly I lost. If you're not using them already, don't! If you are and aren't able to get out quickly, heaven help you.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
mail.com and their securityMarch 02, 2012 By wddurham
After more than 20 years of using mail.com as my primary email, my account was hijacked last month and I couldn't access it. I contacted mail.com to recover m account and they have requested a lot of information from me including picture ID and still I can't recover my account. They keep insisting that since my answer to the security question wasn't correct, I can't possibly be the account owner. Since the hijacker has changed the password, it only makes sense he changed the security question also. I can't understand why after all these years they can't establish the account is mine and I need it back. Now they tell me the account has been deactivated due to suspicious activity and possible spamming. No kidding. Why else would someone go to the trouble of hijacking my account? I almost never sent an email to more than one person at a time. I used their premium services for many years while I worked in the Middle East and surely than could verify that information. I really don't think they care about their customers. Just deactivate the address and let them go.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
To slow to loadFebruary 16, 2012 By altheogre
I would not recommend mail.com to anybody as it is slow to load. You have to fight your way through pop up's and now advertisements before you get to your inbox. I have also had the account lock up causing re-boots several times in recent months. I am in the process of switching my mail account to another provider.
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Weak Support, butFebruary 10, 2012 By drisdale
I've used mail.com for about 15 years, and the service was perfect until AOL. So now the support is slow (and I am a premium subscriber) but it's nice having the @mail.com address - easy for people to remember. As your primary address? Not sure. May be a little risky because you will have occasional issues that are not resolved immediately.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Too many delaysJanuary 17, 2012 By Jimboscoot
My main gripe would be that when sending to @yahoo.com email accounts using the iPhone app, the emails are almost always delayed for three days before being returned undelivered, particularly if you attach a photo. Yahoo blame mail.com, mail.com are unable to resolve the issue but to be fair, it might not be their fault.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Pretty Good.December 12, 2011 By marcdesbiens
Reading all those bad reviews here surprises me. I started using their services 2 weeks ago and so far it's working fine for me. It's not an address I use a lot though, I only check my messages a couple of times per day but so far I haven't had any problems. ;-)
6 of 20 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Slightly recommend, but not for anything crucialNovember 30, 2011 By FrankBlank
Very mild recommendation. They did a revamp and junked it up (in the great tradition of software revamps.) And it has the occasional problem -- For example, it's not working today.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Mail.comNovember 16, 2011 By David55555
I am not sure what is the point of using this company for ""premium"" mail service. Other companies provide the same, or better, service for free. Also, be prepared for frustration and run-arounds if you want to cancel a service that has a charge. They will make you send specific emails, then keep billing you. When you continue to try to cancel, they demand payment for the service that you tried to cancel. Subscribe at your own risk!!
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Not so badNovember 07, 2011 By gantz007
Just started using mail.com Positives: I like having a simple email address, that's what attracted me. I can have an address without numbers or stupid dashes/underscores in my title. It works fine for me, and I can link access to all my e-mail accounts through mail.com Negatives: the mail.com site has junk news and adverts but I just go straight to my mail and ignore all that stuff. Will heed all warnings though and keep my hotmail as back-up for now.
4 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Honestly this is terribleNovember 05, 2011 By thegiantsandwich
You begin entering all your standard fake information (for privacy purposes of course) then begins your attempt to enter your verification code, wich seems extremely long and incredibly difficult to read.Shortly after you attempt to set up your account, 3 hours later you may still be sitting on the sign up page waiting to have your verification code verified, provided you got it right in the first place.The number of web addresses available is a big plus and very attractive but when you realise that actually being able to use the address is impossible, you feel alot like someone is teasing you with something you want.In 1 word HORRIBLE i wouldnt reccomend it to ANYONE.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Mail.comOctober 12, 2011 By Macna
This is the worst experience I have had on the net. I paid for the premium service since the beginning. Since AOL took over the service has sucked big time. I lost emails, had plenty of downtime, no access to my account, mail being lost. I spent hours / days trying to get an answer from their so called customer service. Finally after writing to the whole organisation (literally) numerous times, the Chief Financial Officer answered me! The problem was partially solved. In the meantime I set up my own email and started to run another email system in parallel, I had lost all trust and faith in these guys. Mail is very important to me, it has to be right. Mail.com is rubbish now. I am so glad I did. The service didn't improve and now they are sending me threatening letters telling me to pay for this years subscription or I am going to court!!!?? Thanks mail.com for treating a long standing customer this way! I am so happy I didn't update my credit card with these guys... they would have simply took the money. I feel sorry for all the people who are with mail.com and got charged for such a bad service. Official mail.com is now the worst email in the world.
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Gone to the dogsSeptember 11, 2011 By hoolie81
I have been using mail.com for several years and it was perfectly good until the beginning of this year when it was 'improved' ie loads of good features removed and few good ones added and a few rubbish ones too. Absolutely frustrating and unnecessary regressive steps. There can be a coupole of days' delay on incoming emails too. Then a few months ago an unstoppable pop-up was added as soon as you try to log in. Then a month ago a 15 second loud loud ad was added , it comes up immediately you open the site. It is hard to imagine the sort of person that will tolerate these interferences with logging on for very long. I am actively and reluctantly changing my email provider as a result. mail.com gets one star for being free and that's all.
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst e-mail everSeptember 08, 2011 By Grigg05
I have never used such a slow e-mail account before. It gets stuck or blocks up completely almost on a daily basis! When trying to send e-mails, forget it, it goes so slow that it takes forever to put an e-mail together. It also freezes regularly and I have to come out and re-start my computer which I really have not got time to do when I am trying to work!
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Pity....August 10, 2011 By mikkie0000
I have been using mail.com for several years and it was probably then the best on the market. After it was bought by AOL the decline in standard was noticeable and significant. Difficulties in logging in, loss of personal data & historic mails, spam filter is useless, problems not replied to etc etc. In fact every time I log in there is a new problem so I will change to another provider. I was a premium member so that is their loss. Mail.com deserve their last place in these reviews, Next to useless.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
User of 12 YearsAugust 08, 2011 By fmedic5
I have had my account over 12 years. This site used to be so easy to use. now it's slow and painful to use. I am so disappointed, I barely go into my account anymore because it is so tedious to use. I wish they would go back to the old format, the update is terrible! 8/8/11
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
It was great, but they've destroyed itAugust 02, 2011 By Mrmcdonagh
I have been a user for over 10 years, but since the last so called upgrade it has been unusable and I have had to abandon it. Interface is no longer iPhone/iPad compatible, the pc interface isn't much better. The customer service is non existent, and the new owner is going to see their purchase become worthless, as users will leave in droves. It's a pity.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
It went from average to terribleJuly 24, 2011 By FrankBlu
I too have recently lost over 10 years worth of emails due to mail.com's ""upgrade"". They always seem to be upgrading adding features and then removing them with the next upgrade. In the past I suffered not being able to log in for days at a time. They seemed to fix that problem, but then the service went from modestly speedy to slow and now finally they've lost all my email. It took support about 4 days to respond and then they said they found the problem and would restore my emails. Later they said they might not be able to restore them, but what they could would be in a folder named restored. In my last contact with them they stated they would not be able to restore anything. It took them about 3 weeks to get to that point. I see other people have had the same problem, so this is not an isolated event. I get the feeling that they don't have a very extensive backup system. I have other email accounts with other companies some of which lost my email too, but they restored it all and most importantly I did not have to call support. They were aware of the problem before I was and contacted me first. Mail.com does not have this level of service and I no longer trust them with my email, neither should you.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
AOL ruined itJuly 21, 2011 By CulturalElite
I started using Mail.com four years ago, and I loved it. It was reliable, easy to use, and had interesting main pages. Mail.com was bought by AOL a year or so ago, and the decline has been significant. I finally had to transition to a new provider, because friends and associates kept telling me their emails to me would bounce back. I contacted Mail.com's customer service several times, and received a few automated replies, before being ignored completely. The service has also become slow, and overloaded with too many frills and junk news. I'm all for extra features, but get your primary purpose - email service - working first.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Mail.com sucksJuly 19, 2011 By JayHog
I've used Mail.com for 9 years and had no problems until they recently ""upgraded"" the interface. Now, all I have are problems. For example, unknowingly deleting emails, unable to open emails, email folders won't load, legit addresses are returned, can't login, when the page automatically checks for new email whatever I am doing disappears and my inbox shows up (really annoying,) and I never get ANY kind of REAL response from contacting them. Unfortunately, I use this address for work and feel stuck. I totally need to switch. Before the new interface, I was a happy camper and even presuaded others to try out Mail.com. I would love to have the simpler version back...
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Article seems a little out of dateJuly 14, 2011 By maryweb
I'm a mail.com user, and I love it. But I noticed that a lot of the info in this article seems outdated. I don't even recognize the screenshot , that's def not what mail.com looks like. I think another company might have bought them, and it sounds like lots of things have changed since this article was written and I made my account. Heinz, maybe you could update this? Thanks!
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
lost 10 years worth of emails from my inboxJune 25, 2011 By chunjo
For whatever reason, they lost 10 years worth of my emails from my inbox. Their tech department says they located the reason why, but after two weeks have not restored a single email. Do they have even a tech department? I would have assumed that they maintain multiple streams of backups and that they store them for at least a year. Their latest enhancement seems to have slowed down their servers. Beware.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
No e-mail for four days with Mail.comMay 27, 2011 By VictoriaMary
I have been a loyal user of Mail.com for many years and have gone through their changes and upgrades. Now I can not log in. I have called then and e-mailed them. They will not talk to me and my e-mails have bounced back. I am very frustrated because I have allot of information that I can now not get to. Can anyone help?
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Mail.com, what's up?May 26, 2011 By daniel.lynem
I have had my mail.com email address for over 12 yrs. I know the company has been brought and sold a couple of times at least. But who ever has had it for the past 2-3 yrs. has decided to continue to do ""improvments"". Or should I say ""so-called Improvments. It has been my understanding that in business as in other area's of life that the best policy is: ""If its not broke, leave it alone"". Well these people don't get it. This last ""improvment' has been a disaster. Now, you can't be sure if you will be able to log on or not. Its like a shot in the dark from day to day. Then just the basic stuff, copy and paste, trying to get your curser in one place so you can complete a message you had been working on, trying to open links in emails that you have received etc. etc. etc. I could go on and on. Then you send a message trying to find out what is happening and you either get no response or you get the canned response which you already have read on their help page. It is really disappointing. The more they ""improved"" the site, the worse it has gotten. It used to be the best and I loved it but now.......why? Maybe its me, and I just don't understand this business but it would seem to me that since they have to know what people are saying and that they are losing business, oh well, maybe they just don't care. I'm sorry to say that I have waited for this to turn around. This is the first and the only email address that I have ever had but it looks like its time to move on. Sad, real sad.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
OK, the updates have irked me but I still love it!May 23, 2011 By mistersands
Admittedly, the only reason that I'm writing this review is that I am currently having problems accessing my mail.com account. This has sent me on a journey of sorts. A search engine type of journey; one that has suprised me, as I have read a great many scathing reviews. I've been a user of mail.com for about 9-10 years now, and have been very much satisfied, even given the several 'upgrades' that I've 'endured' and had to adjust to over the years (I was not a big fan when AOL took over, etcetra). For what it's worth (and mind you, I've only ever been a 'free' user and have never been a premium 'paid' user) it's adequate at the very least; and I actually think it's much more than adequate and well worth any adjustments I've had to make. I love, love, love!!! ...my email address. My name + @ + email.com! As long as someone knows my name, and they know how to hold shift + 2... they know, and can easily remember my email address. As a freelance Illustrator and Designer, this has worked very much in my favor. I cringe whenever I meet a fellow Illustrator or Designer (especially a Web Designer) who tells me that they have a @yahoo, @hotmail, @aol, etc... email address. I could use ""myname@whicheverwebsiteIhavedesignedandcurrentlystilluse.com"" but I find that tacky. Now, don't get me wrong, I have experienced some failings in regards to spam (easily fixed, but it did take some time on my part), and as I mentioned before I have had to make adjustments to 'updates' or 'changes' ... but overall my experience with mail.com has been well worth it. I have complete confidence that as the site transitions into yet another new layout, all the bugs will be worked out swiftly.
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Horrible, Horrible, HorribleMay 16, 2011 By LindaDLai
Mail.com is HORRIBLE. Every time they make changes it gets worse and worse.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
BEWARE OF MAIL.COM, AVIOD MAIL.COM AT ALL COST!!April 08, 2011 By mainprofile
BEWARE OF MAIL.COM, AVIOD MAIL.COM AT ALL COST!! I have only started using Mail.com about 2 weeks ago. I noticed after several days I had a great deal of trouble logging in, however I put up with it due to the fact I really wanted an alternative to the CIA owned and operated Google and their free Gmail email service. Using Mail.com was a big mistake. As of 4/7/2011 I have been completely unable to login for two days. What makes this situation worse is that I have sent out a number of resumes using my new Mail.com email address. I now have no way of knowing if prospective employers have responded to me. I did an internet search after the fact to discover that this is a major ongoing problem with Mail.com that they have yet to do anything about. Many other people are having the same problem. Be wise and learn from the mistakes of other people and avoid Mail.com. Thank You, AD
54 of 62 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Account closed w/o noticeApril 01, 2011 By Wrinklestiltskin
I have had a mail.com account for over ten years until the other day, evidently. It's been closed, thankyouverymuch. Before that, it was an inoffensive little account that I used occasionally, and with satisfaction. No more.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
My information was SOLD; No Customer Service; SPAMMarch 22, 2011 By jonnywalker
I tried to block a couple spammers using the same email addresses over and over again but to no avail. I contacted customer support and never got a response. Not only that, Mail.com deleted two of my accounts without warning me, probably in retaliation for me asking them to please do something about the spam I was receiving. I was a regular user just trying to send mail to friends and colleagues. I am terribly disappointed in the lack of assistance and communication. In fact there was none. Furthermore, after signing up for a new account within 10 minutes I was receiving spam. So I think we can all conclude that our information is being SOLD upon signing up. MAIL.COM -- SHAME ON YOU
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Mail.com eMail serviceMarch 09, 2011 By Costaprint
About.com has a very weak password system - I tried very simple passwords according to About.com rules and only succeeded with 123456789. Mail.com is all about annoying News and Ads. It´s spam filter blocks mail from airlines with my travel details and also from Amazon about my orders (Spam ?!!!). When I update my Outlook Express Addresses Mail.com automatically updates some addresses and not others and also adds addresses of people I never heard of. The latest problem is that I can no longer send eMails from Outlook Express with Mail.com - suddenly keeps looking for password which has not changed. I am paying for this kind of service !!!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't Use Too Much AdvertisingOctober 20, 2010 By aa191
This mail client is loaded with advertising. Before you even login you have to close multiple ads. The filtering options for spam is terrible.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Zero help - stay away from Mail.com and affiliatesSeptember 14, 2010 By John_Carrol
I registered for a premium account with a Mail.com domain (journalist.com) a few months ago - early 2010. While the first few months seemed OK, I later had trouble accessing my email from them via their POP3 server using my Outlook client - which had no trouble sending email from my other email address providers. I sent Mail.com a message about this problem, and got absolutely no response at all. I later had trouble sending email out from their SMTP server, and got no response again. To this day, no resolution. What was otherwise a cool email account ended up being completely worthless. While these folks boast nearly 15 million email accounts, they obviously lost track of what customer service is. Stay away from Mail.com and their affiliate domains.
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stay away from Mail.comJuly 04, 2010 By mcrofut
I've had an email account since 1996 with the company that owned the service before mail.com bought it in 2000. I tolerated the unprofessional service and technology because I had so many contacts who new my email address at mail.com already. I finally had enough in 2009 and notified all my contacts that I was switching to another service. I canceled my premium service but discovered there was no way to delete my credit card information. I watched my account and sure enough, even though I canceled the premium service in 2009, they charged my credit card for another annual renewal in May of 2010. When it would have normally renewed. I contacted them by email, and after a week of no response at all, I had my credit card company reverse the charge. After another week, I received an email from mail.com apologizing for charging me again and that they would take care of it. A few weeks later I tried to logon to my account but my password would not work. I did the password reset but never got an email with the temporary password. I sent email to their tech support complaining. Yesterday I received an email saying my account, one I've had for 14 years, was permanently disabled because the actions I did to reverse the credit card charge were deemed fraud. Never mind that they fraudulently charged my credit card in the first place after 2 confirmed cancellations to my premium service.
47 of 48 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
So good!!June 26, 2010 By naty76
I love this E-mail it is so cool Because all the differnet E-mails you can pick.I love that you can IM useing AIM right from your inbox.I forward all my E-mail into that inbox.I can go to my Gmail inbox right from my Mail.com inbox.I can Browse the web from the home of my inbox
3 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Website service and support continue to get worseJune 15, 2010 By damagecontrolad
I have been a mail.com user for about 9 years. Over the years, I have watched as website functionality has improved little while actual features and support have gotten worse and worse. Up until a few months ago, I was a paying customer (premium service, which offered pop/imap support, a larger mailbox and ad free service was about $35 a year). As the years went by, the yearly fee decreased, most likely due to the growth of free services such as gmail and yahoo. Since I had the email address for so long, it was difficult to let go since I had so many contacts and felt it would be difficult to update everyone (including subscriptions) with a new address. What finally pushed me over the edge was the takeover by AOL, which happened about two years ago. Now I had to go through a portal to login. It would work sometimes, but not always, most likely due to a double authentication service (logins were now authenticated against AOL IM service as well as mail.com). Service outages became common and there wasn’t (and probably still isn’t) an easy way to report a service problem (for some reason, it goes to AOL IM support and they do not support mail.com problems). In addition, I was no longer able to view any account details (credit card information, personal information, etc.). In order to contact technical support, I now had to click on a ‘feedback’ button (since when is a technical problem considered “feedback” especially in regards to a paying customer?). Once I did submit a support request, I received an automated response directing me to the FAQs with a note to ‘reply to this message if you still have questions.’ The details of my original problem report were not included in this automated response, which meant I had to type it all again when I replied. Once I did receive a reply from a “feedback” person (which I label them because they certainly are not qualified to be technical support), I usually had to go back and forth before I received the information I was looking for. For instance, it took 6 or more back and forth emails to get my account downgraded from a pay account to a free account. I will continue to be a mail.com member until I completly migrate to a new provider, but only to ensure I have moved all my contacts and subscriptions to the new address. To this day, I cannot imagine why AOL bought the email service since it is obvious they do not plan on supporting the customers. Maybe they will eventually shut it down and use the mail.com domain for some other purpose.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
mail.com unauthorized chargesJune 01, 2010 By carolyndel
I signed up for 2 ""free"" email accounts and had 2 unauthorized charges show up on my credit card the same day totaling $251.02 from a company called Tiscali Italia. Upon checking I find that this company owns mail.com. The kicker is that they do not ask for any financial information when you sign up, so how did they get this? I immediately cancelled the card.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
TerribleMay 04, 2010 By SusanFox21
I made an account on Mail.com and could not log in at all. I changed my password seven times to no avail. They offered me a free thirty day McAfee service which I declined. I can't say if that had something to do with it? This is just an awful service.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
The changes, interpretedMarch 07, 2010 By bobwaters
Guys, what has happened is that Mail.com's trashy old platform has been replaced by AOL/AIM's excellent one. Read Heinz's review of AIM to find out what Mail.com is now. This service has just gone from the bottom of the list to the top. It has joined AOL, the former Tunome, and AIM as- possibly after Gmail- the best free webmail out there. It's using the same platform! Give it a try- and judge it on its own, present merits, not on the basis of experiences with it in the past. It's essentially now a clone of AOL/AIM. And that's good!
7 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Can I Give These Jokers Negative Stars?February 17, 2010 By rdcook451
I, like many of my fellow reviewers here, had been a mail.com subscriber for 5 or 6 years and was mostly satisfied with the service until December 2009. The first week of December 09 functionality went right off the cliff and customer service went AWOL. I learned later that they really went AOL, which kind of explains a lot. For close to 3 months now I have been playing the most infuriating game of e-tag ever. Not only have they not addressed the simplest most basic of my questions it has been plain from the few responses they have bothered to send that they had not even read my e-mails. All the while my account is useless. I opened an account with a competitor and requested they close my account and refund the balance of my subscription, about 10 months remaining on a years sub. Today, after almost 3 months I got the first straight answer to a simple question so far. ""Dear User, As stated in the last response. The account will be active until your premium runs out. We do not offer any refunds. Regards,"" So when all is said and done they are going to do nothing, not even going to bother to close the account & I'm certainly not getting my money back. Apparently once they have your money they don't have to care how bad the service is . I can't help thinking there's a class action suit in here somewhere. After reading these other reviews it's clear I'm not alone here. My partner was unable to move his account due to his work and is now pulling his hair out because the service is intermittent on a really good day. Today was not a good day. They have not fixed the problems and it seems they don't care to. My advice is; avoid these clowns like the plague.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Mail.ComJanuary 29, 2010 By PauloPereira
I have been satisfied using mail.com services and yes, I was able to contact an employee directly on line in order to recover a lost e-mail address and in a few seconds they provided me with an alternate password. I was very happy and as soon as I had access to it, I changed to my own password. Right now, I am using 4 of their different and top domains with my first name, although it is a common one I was able to find it available and that's why I was surprised to find this name on 4 top domains available. I got them all! The service is ""A"" and who knows what is gonna happen in the future?, they always get better. Remember the giant ones in the very beginning? Very tiny storage and now you have as much as you need and want, with lots of other nice feature we all love to use! Just wait and grab and keep yours before somebody else gets it and you regret letting it go!
10 of 19 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Goodbye, mail.com. You screwed us.January 21, 2010 By jjjkp
If I could give it less stars, I would. I've been with mail.com since about 2002. I paid $10 a year for ""premium"" service, which came with file storage and very little spam. Good little service until end of December 2009. We received emails telling us that the service was ""improving"". NO specifics or dates. They migrated to a new system and deleted all my files, including about 12000 in my trash folder. It's my folder: I pay for extra storage; I frequently search it for email addresses I haven't saved, or proof of an email received. They did not transfer any of them to the new system or give any warning so we could save what we might have wanted. They also deleted all my group contact lists and have not responded to any emails asking for help. Today I received an email saying I was downgraded to a free account, even though I have paid for a premium account. Again the only way to address this is to email their ""support"" team. When logging in, the log in screen frequently bounces you out and you have to log in again, so they make you look at the many ads and news feeds they run while you wait. The reason we paid for premium accounts was to access mail quickly and without ads. I am actively looking for a new provider. This will be a major inconvenience to transfer everything over, but I have had it. I hate what they have done to this service and would caution anyone from using. You will never get any service and your data will not be safe.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Mail.com - New portal Great, Poor serviceJanuary 18, 2010 By kennedb
I have been using mail.com for quite sometime. However from 2002 I really started to use the service consitently and have had a premium account (ie no ads) since then. Overtime they have added features, which some I have used and others not. I have used there POP3 service and this was quite reliable. However it was easlier to use the internet portal due to my travelling. The SPAM is a major issue, you will be hit with a lot of SPAM with a mail.com account. They really do a poor job here. There used to be a report SPAM feature where you would report a SPAM'ed email and it said it would forward to their team for review and delete from your account. I used to use this feature religiously for years. However this only ever seemed like a glorified delete key and made no impact on the level of SPAM much of it being the same as was reported. They have however just released a new look and feel portal (which looks remarkably like gmail/hotmail portals) unfortunatly even though they told you it was coming they did not actually inform anyone of what features would no longer be avaliable. For instance I used to have a premium service which provided disk space where I could store files, this was literally just deleted without being informed. So I lost any backed up files I had stored. Even though there is about the same level of SPAM, they have added a SPAM button which seems to not only delete the SPAM but add the domain to a SPAM list, which means SPAM is moved to a SPAM folder which is easily cleared or reviewed. From a email persepective, the new look and feel portal is great and works well. However, i am concerned that backing up email will be impossible without using the POP3 feature (if this still works) as I fear that they will just purge your email when you hit the limit regardless.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Interface improved/business practices BLOWDecember 27, 2009 By ttunknperson
I've been using their forward service for over 10 years, which renews in November. Received Email that my account and card were to be charged as usual on anniversary date, but it never was. A few weeks later my service was downgraded without warning. I then used current premium screen to upgrade to premium service. That worked for 10 days and then I got booted to the free service again. 10 days of trying to Email and a chat session I got an acknowledgment of an issue, but no resolution. I log in and it says I have ""mail plus"" service, but I can not configure any options. It has been 10 days since the revoked my account that I paid for 20 days ago. They need to fix it fast or I will begin a charge-back with my credit card and will have to sign up for Gmail or some such other service. Also, did anyone use the Chat service to Customer Care before? The link seems to be gone.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Pull the rug out from beneath paying customers!December 15, 2009 By jjwatmyself
I've been a paying mail.com customer for 8 years and have used mail forwarding exclusively during that time. My current subscription is paid through 2011. I would have previously rated the service as 5 stars, but just last week I received an email informing me that the forwarding service I am subscribed to would be upgraded to POP/SMTP and that forwarding would be terminated. I have written to mail.com support as well as the complaints department requesting that my forwarding service not be terminated and that changing my service to POP/SMTP is not an upgrade, but a blatant disregard for a the needs of their customers. The responses I have received are template trouble shooting messages and completely useless. Mail.com current business model is flawed and I predict that they will lose many loyal customers. I am very disappointed in this reckless approach that mail.com have taken towards their approach to doing business. If mail.com remedy this I will most likely post an update.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
It is now working at all.December 12, 2009 By pavic
Site is temporarily unavailable. This is not what anybody wants from e-mail service. I have chosen it ONLY because of the domain names because a particular auction portal did not want to take my registration with so called free e-mail providers like gmail or yahoo. Anyway It is unreliable.....What else to tell you.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Mail.comDecember 06, 2009 By lapaka
There new format really SUCKS, the old one worked just fine. Unless I can go back using the old format I will switch to a different one. I have asked them to tell me how to use the old format, but zero answer from them so far.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
zero privacyNovember 15, 2009 By onekoala
I had an account with mail.com until they recently updated their web site. After that, I could no longer log in using my Opera web browser unless I changed my cookie settings to zero privacy. After deleting all cookies on my computer, I logged in using Internet Explorer with cookies set to medium/high and, on checking, found that no less than 18 cookies had followed me in. I complained to mail.com but only received robot replies, so I cancelled my account. I found out that mail.com is affiliated to AOL, another intrusive set-up if ever there was one. I never did like them anyway because the whole site is riddled with ads.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
A great, free mail serviceSeptember 21, 2009 By drivethrujedi
Mail.com is a basic, free mail service that does offer many great settings and options for the average web user. Even though, it cannot stand to more mainstream and powerhouse email services such as Yahoo, AOL, and Gmail, it packs a punch with the free space that is included in the deal. As you can sign up for a paid membership to gain more space, I feel that 3GB is good enough for the regular average joe. I started using the service as problems with my Yahoo and AOL accounts due to bugs and spam issues, I soon kept Mail.com as my main mail service. I will admit it has taken time to stop many of the spam messages that I have receieved but now can be worry free of any junk mail that I have coming to me. The other con of this service is very rarely a daily sender will pop up in my junk mail and sometimes I am not aware of it. I do hope they fix this bug very soon though. As I have said in the amount of space that your given, the interface of the service is very user friend and does offer some options for more of a intermediate user. It also doesn't offer many of the flashy and gimmicky options as other services do which is a plus in my book. Overall, I'm very satisfied with the service and have been using it for many years now to all of my emailing services.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
GREAT EMAIL SERVICE!September 16, 2009 By AllAmericangal
In my experience, Mail.com has been one of the best free email services I've ever used!! It's convenient; it has many features; it has lots of folders you can create, among many other cool features...I also am impressed with their SPAM filter options...They feature a Block List...where you can block annoying incoming emails...For example, if you enter the sender's email address to that list, then hit the Block sender tab--from that point on--you won't receive any emails from that sender... Another cool feature, is that when you're signing up...you get to select from a wide variety of domain names as part of your email address...Just an overall satisfying service... MY RATING for Mail.com: A
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
mail.comJuly 03, 2009 By rossvassilev
simple, easy-to-use. way better than Gmail or Yahoo.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Great Service, But Lacks Pop Access For FreeMarch 13, 2009 By JoshM254
I like it for the domain names but I do not like paying to use pop to access my mail.
15 of 23 people found this review helpful.