1. Technology
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

Lavabit - Free Email Service

User Rating 3 out of 5
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Time will tellJuly 17, 2012 By LeeIrwin
I just signed up for Lavabit after it was suggested by the secure search engine DuckDuckGo.com since they don't have email up and running. I'm going to use it just for online shopping orders. I was a recent victim of credit card fraud and am looking for sites with more security. Lavabit is accepting new members and I got one of the free accounts.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
So far so goodJuly 01, 2012 By Arafurian
I signed up for a basic free service today with not a hint of fuss or bother. The service is REALLY basic - simple POP3 or webmail (no IMAP), with few apparent extras. Well, this is OK by me, because all I want is simple and basic. The only thing that I noticed was that their POP3 and SMTP server addresses are a bit unusual. Instead of having a prefix such as 'mail.', 'pop3.' or 'smtp.', their address are just plain 'lavabit.com'. Once I explained this to Thunderbird (overriding their auto system), everyhting worked just fine.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Lavabit rocksJanuary 13, 2012 By dirtrider702
I have used Lavabit for several years to supplement my own Postfix/Dovecot servers for certain uses and it has worked flawlessly since I originally signed up. Some of these reviews are outrageous especially considering Lavabit is a free service that values your privacy. Imho unless you paid for the service you have no real valid reason to complain . Lavabit provides really one thing and one thing well and that is electronic mail if your looking for fancy groupware or exchange like features with an extravagant web interface like gmail you may be better of elsewhere. Lavabit is set up ideally for imap or pop through a client like thunderbird or mutt etc. I must also mention free signup has been closed for quite some time due to abuse of there services but they may have reopened it.
22 of 24 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Lavabit is dyingNovember 21, 2011 By staj
I have been using lavabit for many years now. They have been a useful and reliable service... up until now. My account has been locked 'due suspicion of abuse' even though it is a relatively low use account with no spam at all. The main issue however is that they have shut down their contact page, suspended all new users and offer no way to contact them. They are clearly killing off this service and offer ZERO support. I did find a way to send an email, but no reply in over a week. Even if they reopen subscriptions DON'T join, and if you are a member - get out now before you lose all your emails and your service.
14 of 21 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Simple and EasySeptember 10, 2011 By cyrusgh
I have been using lavabit (at first known as nerdshack.com) for years. My mails have never been lost or not delivered. The web interface is very simple, no ad, perfect for very slow connections. Their spam protection is quite good. I recommend this to anyone who is tired of watching ads and long signing-in times. Good work for a free email.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
LAVABIT IS RUBBISH!!!!!!!July 06, 2011 By zanystuff
Am I the only person on earth? The lavabit email has shut for 24 hours so far for 'repairs'. I can't access my emails. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS MICKEY MOUSE OUTFIT
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
fail to send attachmentsMarch 11, 2011 By eco19
i open a free personal account recently.it is suppose to send up to 64 mb attachment but it failed several times to preform this.the customer service did not know the reason so for me it is not ok
5 of 14 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Great as long as you don't need to talk to a humanMarch 08, 2011 By aventor.com
Lavabit provides a great, reliable, free service. They have refused to deliver messages in the past, due to some sort of overly aggressive reverse spam filter, but at least they send a message saying that sending failed, instead of leaving you to believe that it went through. They've got POP3, IMAP, and a web client, and they're all encrypted (optionally). However, lavabit is not for everyone. They never respond to bug reports or complaints or anything of that nature. Certainly, never sign up for their pay services. When you add money and billing into the mix, you greatly increase the chances of something going wrong and you having to talk to somebody. Maybe you get double charged, or maybe you need to cancel before a renewal and don't know how, or maybe you don't feel you're getting one of the features you paid for. If you were to have any sort of problem, lavabit will not help you with it. I've been using lavabit for a few years, and I'm happy with it. Their privacy policies and server encryption is kind of a joke, but at least they're trying, which means privacy is important to them, and not having any humans at the helm at least means nobody is sitting there reading my email.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Lavabit - An ancellent providerAugust 06, 2009 By LinuxRoot
I have the Lavabit Premium account for $16.00 a year. When it comes to email, the general rule of thumb is that you get what you pay for. In the case of Lavabit, the quality far exceeds the cost of the service. I found that inquiries to support were answered within a day. The security is top notch and the webmail interface is simple and serves it's purpose well. The secure POP3 and SMTP services work flawlessly. If you're serious about your email and email security, Lavabit is for you. If quality and reliability are not a concern to you, then keep your Gmail, Hotmail or Yahoo account and hope for the best...but expect the worst.
25 of 33 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
NO FREE EMAIL!!!!May 24, 2009 By rollandjaywallace
I got this message today when I tried to open a new email account with Lavabit....""Due to a recent increase in the number of accounts being created for abusive purposes we have decided to suspend new user registrations until further notice."" I think this site should be taken off about.com's 17 top free email services....
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Lavabit email problems & hasslesApril 25, 2009 By integlitz
I liked what I saw on the free email account. I paid email ($8.00) for a year to have a spare secure email service. I rarely used it because its awkward, not an email program I'd want to use regularly. I had a problem logging in. The customer service I received was horrible. Days after my first email, I was still locked out of my paid email account. They have a notice after you send an email it may take 24 hours for a response, and during busy times it may take up to 3 days, 3 business days. It can be much less if somebody is around to answer. My first email response was almost immediate. After that, down hill. There is no lavabit forgot your password feature. They have to reset it. I was told my password hadn't been changed in the last two weeks. In otherwords they had to reset my password (that I keep written down and use when I log in). I have no record of any changes. I email them back. No answer what the problem is. I don't recommend lavabit free or paid.
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Excellent, if you can keep your accountFebruary 18, 2009 By macosxp
I was trying to decide on giving it a 5 star review or a 1 star review, so I set on 3 stars. Why? 5 stars: I've had this service for years and it's always been excellent, fast, spam-free, ad-free, and it was always able to handle large attachments, all with a promise of high privacy. 1 star: For no apparent reason, my two email accounts seem to have just suddenly dropped out of Lavabit's system for no reason. If I try to log in to the web mail even it says that my username or password is unknown. My parents have another lavabit account which still works though. But any account that I come to depend upon deserves one star if it just falls out from under me. So I had to set on three stars. It really is excellent and I've always recommended it, but I'm very nervous about my email account now and I can only hope it will get back up. I use it for all kinds of important stuff.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Lava's lacking...January 02, 2009 By kbr61
I opened an account about 2.5 months past. Initially, all was well, but (little-by-little) I can NO longer read ANY forwarded e's from friends. I corresponded with LavaBit 5 times, each time they gave me a different task (which was fine) to attempt to resolve the issue, all-the-while (from jump-street) suggesting that, I find another 'e' provider, which I thought was a bit odd. I am now looking for another e-provider cuz, we all gotta 'e'--don't we?? No tech support is fine--I unnerstan' all that, & they did try to assist (I think), yet, I DO, however, request & require that, I can (actually) be ABLE to correspond with my friends via 'said' e-provider. So, why do I feel like I'm dumping a girlfriend now....? That's just weird! Thx, anyways (I guess) Keith
22 of 33 people found this review helpful.