1. Computing

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

BigString.com - Free Email Service

User Rating 1.5 out of 5
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
No abuse no loose talkAugust 10, 2012 By aneeta.nabeel
This is best service.It provides fast and easy service to its clinnts.It is also safe for its clint and provides them long reach to every web site.
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bigstring Randomly DELETES ALL YOUR EMAILS PERMANEJune 24, 2012 By AlisaMarieTcb
RANDOMLY BIGSTRING WILL UPDATE THEIR SYSTEM & DELETE ALL YOUR EMAILS! DO NOT USE THEM! THEY WILL TAKE NO RESPONSIBILTY NOR BRING BACK WHAT WAS DELETED. ALL IN THE NAME OF IMPROVEMENT. ALL MY IMPORTANT LEAGAL AND MEDICAL DOC'S HAVE BEEN LOST & AS THE PREVIOUSE POSTER NOTED.. FORGET ABOUT CONTACTING CUSTOMER NO SERVICE.. YOU WILL GET NO WHERE!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
It dont do what it says on the box!October 25, 2011 By Blogga
Simply read all the reviews that precede this one. I have experienced many of the same problems as outlined by others here. DO NOT SEND ANY SENSITIVE EMAIL TO ANY THIRD PARTIES IN THE HOPE IT WILL 'SELF DESTRUCT' - IF THE EMAIL DOES REACH ITS INTENDED TARGET IT WILL NOT SELF DESTRUCT NOR WILL YOU BE ABLE TO TELL IF IT HAS BEEN READ BY THE RECIPIENT. Do not waste your time trying to contact customer support as it is more than likely that they will ignore your enquiry if it relates to any problems you might be having with your bigstring email.
29 of 31 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
NOT WORTH THE TIME IT TOOK TO SIGN UP !August 22, 2011 By PatrickMcS
I signed up specifically to receive a read receipt for one email to a legal firm. Not only did it say that the message was UNREAD - when I contacted the recipient, the email from their server had gone to her junk mail. Even after she opened the email, bigsting showed it as remaining UNREAD. Thanks for the great? service. I asked them to delete my account.!!!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
BigString.com - Free EmailApril 02, 2011 By skiouraki
Too much for nothing! In past, me and my cousins did many experiments sending one to eachother protected emails choosing different functions each time. They never worked. In addition, recipients waited days until they get their emails. Maybe, in future, bigstring email works better...
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Not ReliableMarch 28, 2011 By tomblanks
I have been with them for some time. It is nice to have control over the emails. However, it is even better if you can count of the emails with attachments to get to where they should. Frequently the emails do not get to the person they are intended for with the attachments. In the very beginning the support was good but that did not last long. Now if there is an issue you cannot call anyone as you use to and they rarely contact you back if you email them. I have to agree with the one review that Adam was not the friendliest support person I have ever encountered but I think the company has a bigger problem at the moment than him. If the your emails are something other than a bit of fun you are sending out, you should probably save yourself the hassle of working with this program.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
BigString ReviewJanuary 01, 2011 By Lunar.Aurora
I agree that one should not rely on it for the delivery of important messages. However, in terms of control over the emails you send, it's actually pretty good. I definitely enjoy being able to expire email I send. But because of the chances of losing emails and files, I send emails from that account and receive from Zoho.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
My personal Bigstring ExperienceMay 09, 2010 By RealWorldReviewer
I've been using Bigstring for a couple years now. Initially I found the service to be acceptable, fun, and reassuring that I had control over my emails. Not only could you track the date & time emails were read you could verify the email address as well. However, they've recently made unspecified ""upgrades"" to their service that have made me question the reliability of the service. I also lost all my email as other users here have described and for months now have had no personal access to files that I do upload for attachments. That's hardly control in my eyes. I've made several contact attempts to their email support however not a single one has been replied to. Service to an alternative tracking method has also been abruptly interrupted without comment, explanation or apology. So, if you're counting on using the site for any legal proof of delivery or important communication I would seriously think twice about relying upon the bigstring service for your needs. In addition, tracking reports now only consist of the number of views your email has had which is essentially worthless since your own views are incorporated into the totals. For example, if your email program is configured to load the original message you sent into a reply from your recipient as mine does. I'm hoping that bigstring is able to get its act together and resume what used to be a fun and somewhat reliable method of tracking your emails. In concept it is a truly unique service with great potential and is useful to have in your email arsenal. Bottom line: I've enjoyed the service and it's offerings in the past but am increasingly frustrated with the less than stellar ""upgrades"", support, and reliability of bigstring in 2010. Get back to your old glory bigstring!
32 of 34 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bigstring Looses/Deletes emails and filesDecember 15, 2009 By Girlie4u
I have been sold on ""Bigstring"" for years and recomended this Email Acct to many many friends and family. However 1 issue I had with them took place a couple of yr.s ago, they had upgraded their system and ""ALL"" emails were lost! But I discovered that whatever was ""Filed"" away, was safe and kept. ~I was devastated about the ""emails"" though. I sent a message to their support team and had a reply in just minutes letting me know they rec'd my message and would be taking care of the issue immediately. Well this took place again this Oct.2009 and this time ""Not Only Were The ""emails"" LOST, BUT THE ""FILES"" HAVE BEEN LOST AS WELL. I NOW have extremely important emails and files which they have lost with this latest upgrade and no matter how much I write to them and send in my complaint tickets, ALL THEY DO IS IGNORE THEM AND HAVE DONE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION. Again, this has been going on since Oct2009 we are now in Dec.2009 and they still have yet to even let me know they are working on it, let alone I am still without my emails and files.. ~I'll let you decided if this is the type of company you want handling your important mail and files. I have 3 acct's with them, some have more activity than others and still with each and every one of them.. Bigstring has lost ""EVERYTHING!
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
use free if you have to....don't buy itJanuary 22, 2009 By surfriot
features are minimal, support is lousy and abrupt if they do get back to you....""Adam"" needs a lesson in communication. Not worth even free.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
This stinksDecember 25, 2008 By Jeffreynolds
I can't see the code at the bottom of the screen to even sign up for the service. I understand the design and reason for these, but please make them readible.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.